SATISFY A DMV REQUIREMENT. If you want to take a driver education course to get your drivers license, this course
is for you. This course is licensed by DMV and follows the same course content as the Department of Education. All individuals who elect to take the classroom
component of the driver’s education course online must take the online course through a DMV licensed driver training school. Home schooled students are exempt from
this requirement. This online course is available statewide to students, adults and out-of-school youths. You must be at least 15 years and 6 months old to
take the online driver education course.
NEVER HAD A LICENSE. If you are a Virginia resident age 18 years or older and have never had a driver’s
license, you can use this course to waive the requirement that you have a learner’s permit for 60 days. If you are a Virginia resident under age 18,
you can use this course to satisfy the driver education program classroom requirement.
JUVENILES EXCHANGING AN OUT OF STATE LICENSE. If you are exchanging your out-of-state license and do not have
proof of driver education from another state, this course will satisfy the Virginia state-approved driver education course requirement in
obtaining your Virginia license.
CONTENT. The program consists of at least 30 hours of instruction, and includes components about alcohol safety,
drug abuse awareness, aggressive driving, distracted driving, pedestrian and bicycle safety, handicapped parking, fuel-efficient driving practices,
motorcycle awareness, and organ and tissue donation awareness as required by law. In order to benefit from the course, you must be able to
work independently and be comfortable using a computer.
REGISTRATION. To register for the online course, Click Here. Once you have completed the form and pay the fee,
you can get started right away.
TESTING. You will be tested on your comprehension of the material throughout the course. There are 7 secure online
tests of 50 questions each. The 7th test is the final exam. To successfully complete the course, you must pass each test with a minimum score of 80%, which is
at least 40 out of 50 questions answered correctly. You may take the final exam online during normal business hours from 9:00 am until 5:00 pm Monday through
Friday. The test is not open book and will monitored by an instructor. You may take the final test only once a day.
IDENTIFICATION. You need proper photo identification (DMV issued identification card, school issued identification card,
valid passport or military identification) to take the final test. In addition, please make sure to have your proof of completion of this online driver education course.
JUVENILES. If you are under age 18, you will need a completed "Parental Consent for Online Driver Education Examination" form
(DMV Form DTS 62). And if you are under age 18 and live in Planning /district 8 (counties of Arlington, Fairfax, Loudon and Price William and cities of
Alexandria, Fairfax, Manassas and Manassas Park), your must also have proof of the additional 90-minute parent/teen course.
CERTIFICATE FOF COMPLETION. We will notify you of your graduation and provide you the certificate of completion by the next business day.
The driver education certificate is considered part of the driver’s license application.